My experience with Napptive so far

My experience with Napptive so far

Hey everyone I am Hasnain Makada and currently I am working as a Developer Advocate at Napptive where I work closely with the platform and educate the community more about DevOps

I've been using Napptive for the past few months later, used it in one of my Hackathons in which we developed a to-do app and for the backend of the app temporarily we used one of the pre-built catalogues of Napptive. So I am sharing my experience of using Napptive and why I love it

So before starting off. Let me tell you what is Napptive?

What is Napptive?

Napptive is a cloud Native application platform which is used to save the DevOps and Developers time by streamlining the most common operations around infrastructure, Such as creating clusters, reusing Kubernetes namespaces etc. We can easily integrate Napptive with various CI/CD Tools and the best part is we don't have to worry about Kubernetes 90% of the time.

Napptive offers a great GUI in which we can deploy their pre-built apps in just a matter of seconds. On the top Napptive provides support for OAM so it is focused more on the application rather than container, orchestration etc.

We can also deploy our custom apps on Napptive and make them usable to the community also and it also provides support for Kubectl too.

My personal use case with Napptive

I personally use Napptive for my hackathons and while making my projects. When dealing with local databases there are a lot of chances that they will get crashed and our data will get lost. But with Napptive overcomes this feature by providing you with a set of pre-built database catalogues such as phpMyadmin-MySQL, PostgreSQL etc.

By using the pre-built catalogues you can set up your application with the endpoints of the database catalogue, So it removes the crashing of your databases and you can deploy it on your local machine in just a matter of seconds.

The best thing about Napptive is it reduces a lot of complexity for you because of the OAM it follows, You can now focus on building your applications rather than worrying about docker, Kubernetes etc. I am not saying that it completely removes the need for K8s but reduces the complexities which you face while working with K8s

Integration with GitHub Actions

Napptive also provides integration with GitHub actions with which you can execute a set of commands whenever any actions are performed on your project

The most common operations are pushing any new code or updating any changes, pulling some pre-made changes or merging any new pr(s). You can execute any playground commands which you want to perform when any of these actions perform

You can start integrating it from here.

Conclusion

I hope that now you got a basic understanding of what is Napptive from my personal use case, There are a lot of new features that will be introduced in future as the team is improving the platform constantly.

You can personally reach me out on twitter & showwcase.